Can Ping FREENAS sever but can't access anything

Status
Not open for further replies.

lfilomeno

Dabbler
I am a noob with unix but not so in the IT world. My freenas server was running well until today. I have a pen drive running freenas 8.0 64 bit. power failure and can ping the server but can't access the web gui or any of the shares! (Windows based network) the following errors have scrolled down:

GEOM: da0s1: geometry does not match label (16a, 635 !=255h, 63s)

/usr/local/etc/rc.d/lighttpd: WARNING: failed to start lighttpd

/etc/rc: warning: failed precmd routine for vmware_guestd

this is all greek to me! how can I fix these errors? Anticipated thanks.

Visseroth

Guru
Seems this may be a bug. I had the same error the other day and had to reload my system and restore my config.

lfilomeno

Dabbler
Visseroth,

Thanks fro your response. since I can't access the console, how do I reload and\or restore my config? This is driving me nuts!!! Thanks. (By the way, I am learning Linux!)

Milhouse

Guru
GEOM: da0s1: geometry does not match label (16a, 635 !=255h, 63s)

/etc/rc: warning: failed precmd routine for vmware_guestd

The above two errors are, unfortunately, totally normal and nothing to worry about - they're just noise, with luck a future release will stop them appearing.

/usr/local/etc/rc.d/lighttpd: WARNING: failed to start lighttpd

Now this is a problem... it looks like the webserver hasn't started for some reason. If you can access the server using ssh, or via the console (plug a keyboard and monitor into the server), then check what messages (if any) are in /var/log/lighttpd.error.log

Visseroth

Guru
The only ways I know how to reload a system is a install from CDROM or using the console to restore the system back to factory condition then logging into the web gui and uploading the config back to the server and let it reboot a couple times while it re-applies the settings.