Can I use a freeNAS server to run software as a PC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marco_Paris

Cadet
Hi everybody,

I'm new to servers and I'm still struggling understanding the differences between the different kinds of them. So please forgive me if what I ask is dumb.
I work in a research lab and I need to set up a server for my team. We are few people (5-10) and everybody but me will use the server just for file sharing. For this reason I was thinking to use freeNAS as OS.

I work with MatLab and I use a powerful workstation for the computationally heavy work (or when needed a cluster) . What I would need to be able to do with the machine with freeNAS more than file sharing would be the following:
- launch on the server from my workstation MatLab, not necessarily with a graphical interface
- use it to run time-consuming (but not computationally demanding) scripts while I keep my workstation available for other work
- this while the server keeps working for file sharing (these scripts need almost a day to get completed)

Of course the machine will be powerful enough, I was thinking at something like
Lenovo ThinkServer TD340.

Will I be able to do this with freeNAS?

Many thanks in advance for your help

Marco

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Hi everybody,

I'm new to servers and I'm still struggling understanding the differences between the different kinds of them. So please forgive me if what I ask is dumb.
I work in a research lab and I need to set up a server for my team. We are few people (5-10) and everybody but me will use the server just for file sharing. For this reason I was thinking to use freeNAS as OS.

I work with MatLab and I use a powerful workstation for the computationally heavy work (or when needed a cluster) . What I would need to be able to do with the machine with freeNAS more than file sharing would be the following:
- launch on the server from my workstation MatLab, not necessarily with a graphical interface