Can i reboot server remotely?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrphillyblunt

Dabbler
Total noob here, have had issues with my FreeNAS having issues and needing to be restarted, which got me thinking, what if I'm on the road, trying to access Plex or NextCloud and the server isn't working. Is there a way for me to easily reboot the machine remotely? Thanks in advance. Laymans terms appreciated...When I say noob, I mean TOTAL noob to the server world.

I

iDenny

You could use SSH to create a connection to your machine and then reboot it. However you put your security at risk when you open your NAS for the Internet. Otherwise, there are tons of clients (Win/Linux/iOS/Android, you name it) which may help you with that.

The second solution, even more retarded than the first one, is to open your internal network for the outside world, i.e. port-forwarding 80 port to your NAS. If you chose this solution, you may need to put IPS or IDS in front of your NAS.

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
You could use SSH to create a connection to your machine and then reboot it. However you put your security at risk when you open your NAS for the Internet. Otherwise, there are tons of clients (Win/Linux/iOS/Android, you name it) which may help you with that.

The second solution, even more retarded than the first one, is to open your internal network for the outside world, i.e. port-forwarding 80 port to your NAS. If you chose this solution, you may need to put IPS or IDS in front of your NAS.

VPN is a third and better option. The webui is not supposed to be exposed to the internet (even with an IPS / IDS).

mrphillyblunt

Dabbler
So, how exactly do I go about accessing it? What client would be good for windows and how do I setup my FreeNAS so I can access it via SSH (I have no securities set yet, nor will I have ANY sensitive info on the NAS. Again, total noob.

To anodos, how could I achieve it through VPN?

I

iDenny