Can do everything except modify files

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys, newbie here.

Short story: I can create, rename, delete, move, copy files with no problems. But I just can't modify them? They are read only.

I'm having issues with sharing using CIFS. Basically all are Windows PCs. 4 datasets, one for the owner, his wife, main folder for many users and a scan folder for the scanned documents to go into.

I know this isn't right, but I'm just trying to get rid of permissions issues with the ACL. Basically, I've tried setting the storage volume to Unix share all boxes check, and each of the datasets the same (With windows share, I can't even create a file as it throws up access denied). The users and groups are set to nobody and nogroup for the storage volume as well as the datasets. The CIF share also has Allow guest access checked for each dataset.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks a lot guys.

Last edited:

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
What am I doing wrong?
Short answer - all of it. :)

Samba on FreeNAS involves one of two sorts of hacks: big ugly ones (Unix permission type) or small pretty ones (Windows permission type). Using "Unix permissions" seems natural for many of us because we are used to *nix servers. The problem is that with samba we are trying to replicate behavior of a Windows server.

Well, enough yammering. I'll try to keep this short and sweet. Do as follows:
  • Configure all shares with windows ACL Type.
  • Create two groups: <owners> and <users>
  • Create minimum of 5 users: <admin>,<husband>, <wife>, <users>, <scanner> The admin account will be the one that you use to authenticate to the server. You can make it easier for yourself by setting passwords so that they are identical to their windows login passwords. Make husband and wife members of <users>.
  • Configure ownership of ownership of shares as follows:
    • <husband share> - <admin>:<owners>
    • <wife share> - <admin>:<owners>
    • <main folder> - <admin>:<users>