Buying a server for storage

flashiling

Cadet
Hello.
i've been looking around for recommendations on some posts but can't seem to find any.
i'm an intern who's been tasked with finding a possible server that we can store ouer backups on with roughly 8 slots for 2'5 inch drives.

so i'm looking for any recommendations from any of you guys who might have more knowledge about which server to get, and preferably one that we can place in ouer server rack, so the flat ones.

Apologies for the possible lack of information as i'm still leraning :)
i hope i fulfilled the necessary amount of information to get some assistance with choosing a server.
We are located in denmark so some american only items might not be available for purchase

Jessep

Patron
Sorry to be blunt, you are not qualified to setup and run a FreeNAS server in a production environment.

You should be looking at business solutions that are supported by the vendor.

If this is EXCLUSIVELY a target for backups you could use a Synology RackStation. Linked below is an acceptable solution as a backup target.
https://www.synology.com/en-au/products/RS3617RPxs
https://www.newegg.com/synology-rs3617rpxs/p/N82E16822108433?Description=RS3617RPxs&cm_re=RS3617RPxs-_-22-108-433-_-Product

Use these drives (x6)
https://www.newegg.com/p/1Z4-0002-00366?Description=HUH721010ALE604&cm_re=HUH721010ALE604-_-1Z4-0002-00366-_-Product

Set it up in RAID6 of x6 drives using BTRFS as the file system. Setup periodic scrubs of the RAID.

IF needed add a second set of x6 drives to the pool.

RTFM before you start.

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Sorry to be blunt, you are not qualified to setup and run a FreeNAS server in a production environment.
But maybe the OP is open to learning so why disqualify them from the start?
You must have missed this part:
8 slots for 2'5 inch drives.