"Built-for-Enterprise" vs "Fully-Custom" Rack Server

malkortechie

Cadet
I'm quite experienced in putting together workstations and laptops from salvaged parts: my current TrueNAS server is a salvaged Dell workstation with the HDD's actually sitting on _top_ of it. This is fully function, but I've got my Christmas money and I'm ready to get a bit more professional. Also, I have LOTS of experience with consumer-side equipment but very little with proper back-end/server kit.
I want to move to a rack server but I've only enough money to do this once: and I'd like some experienced advice as to which path to choose. A "Built-for-Enterprise" server - such as a Dell Poweredge R710 - would let me not only learn administrating server software but also proper server hardware: like I might encounter if I move from the Help Desk to the Systems Admin area. A "Fully-Custom" Rack Server will give me flexibility of design: I can short _installed_ memory now for a board which will be upgradable for longer. Going fully-custom, however, will prevent me from getting experience with enterprise-grade equipment.
I'm nearly 50 years old but I'm not planning to retire anytime soon: so I need to learn as much from this as I can, either way.
I would really appreciate your informed comments: to help guide my decision. Thanks for your help.

ChrisRJ

Wizard
Can you be more specific (e.g. an example) what you mean with "fully-custom rack server"?

If it means for you to buy a rack-mount case from an unknown company, do the same for SATA enclosures, etc., I would recommend against it. The relative ease you have with hardware today, compared to the 1980s/early 1990s, comes from standardization. Or in other words: not leaving the trodden path. If you buy a server from a reputable company, you have a combination of components that exists thousands of times. And it has been used millions of hours in demanding settings. Going for something custom, means that you loose those advantages.