BUILD Building my first NAS Box

Status
Not open for further replies.

tjo

Dabbler
Hello all. I'm new to the home NAS scene. I'm starting to assemble my hardware and reading all the post on building. I have IT experience but have been pushing more paper for the last five years then getting into the actual building. My goal is to set up a home NAS for movies, music and photo's. I'm going to be using XBMC to access my movies and tv shows. I'm hoping to have sickbeard set upon it as well. I will be running backups for three Mac's and one PC. Any tips you would like to pass on will be greatly appreciated. One question I had is it better to a SSD then mem stick? I can pickup a 60 gb SSD for $70. I will be starting with 3 2 TB drives is this sufficient ordo I require more drives.

Okay hardware I have so far:

Case: BitFenix Prodigy Midnight Black Edition Mini-ITX (BFC-PRO-300-KKXSK-RP)

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=6_631&item_id=049443

HDD: 3 X WD Red (WD20EFRX) 2TB SATA3 64MB Buffer NAS Hard Drive

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=15_1086_210_212&item_id=050753

PS: Corsair Builder Series Modular CX430M 430 Watt 80 PLUS Bronze Certified Power Supply (CP-9020058-NA)

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=33_442&item_id=056809

OS Drive: Patriot Element 16GB Aluminum USB 3.0 Flash Drive (PSF16GLSEL3USB)

http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=11_180_632&item_id=055470

Still looking at which Mb/CPU/ram combo. So far been looking at this.

ASRock E350M1/USB3 AMD E-350 APU (1.6GHz, Dual-Core) AMD A50M Hudson M1 Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo and buying 16gb of ram.

Okay back to reading the forums.

Thanks for any help

JaimieV

Guru