Build a Truenas server with 7x8TB raidz2

teapot9

Cadet
Hello,

While I have known ZFS for some time, this is my first time actually using it.

My current NAS has 15TB used space and I need more storage.
I recently got a supermicro CSE-846 server, probably overkill for my needs, with an Intel XEON E5620, and 24GB RAM included.

I plan to get 6x8TB or 7x8TB HDD in a raidz2 vdev for my main stogage.

Stored data:
  • Mostly media files: pictures, videos (a lot), music.
  • Some git repositories and source code, but most of the code is either on github or gitlab.
  • A dozen VMs, some are experimental, and others are hosting personal services (media sharing/streaming, file hosting, backup services, ...).
I am thinking of getting 3x1TB or 3x2TB SSD in raidz1 to store the VMs.

For backups, I currently have an offsite backup server where I also plan to use Truenas with daily replication.
I would like to transfert my current 5x6TB HDDs in there and add some more to get a 8x6TB raidz2.
Currently, the backup server has 1x12TB HDD with an incomplete backup.
I am not sure what I will do with this drive. Maybe keep it as cold spare or backup, or for a possible future vdev with 12TB drives, or sell it on ebay.

So here are some questions:

1. Is there any remarks regarding my plan? Or need more informations?

2. Are my raidz vdevs reasonably sized (number of drive, size of drives)?
Since I have backups, I don't feel too afraid of fatal pool failure. But restoring from backup would be a pain I don't want to live every n months.

3. Considering resilvering time of 8TB drives, is loosing too many drives something I should worry about (with 6 or 7 drives in raidz2)?

4. What is the advantage of having a cold/hot spare? Would having a spare be equivalent to running a raidz3?

5. All I need to backup from the system itself is the configuration and the encryption keys, am I right?

6. Is ZFS record size something I should worry about? Or is the 128K default fine anywhere?