Boot USB listed as Boot Pool membership "N/A "

NumberSix

Contributor
Hi Everyone.
This is my first post to the forum so 'Hello Gang!'

New as I am to the forum, I am also pretty new to TrueNAS, having been playing with a small test install using bits of old kit ahead of deciding whether I should switch to TrueNAS as my main Home NAS setup. I'm not terribly familiar with Linux systems, coming from Windows, so I tend to rely 99% on the GUI. That's a little background on me and my aims, so I hope someone can help with my problem.

I am booting from a 32Gb USB 3 stick, and everything seems fine. Except for one nagging detail. When I look at Storage/Discs, I see two items listed there; the HDD listed as being in pool 'Volume1' (which is what I called it), and the USB stick or 'da0' listed as being in pool 'N/A'. Now, from various videos I've watched on Youtube, it seems this should be listed as 'Boot Pool'. So, despite everything 'apparently' working fine, this discrepency worries me. What am I not seeing at this stage that could kill me later?

If I go to System/Boot, I see two entries & I'm not sure what they signify. One is named 'default' and has 1014.50 KiB free. The other is named 'True-NAS Boot' with 1.16Gb free - and is also marked as "Now/Reboot". I'm guessing this latter item is my USB disk. Feeling my way here I think I need to 'Add' this to my boot Pool. I hit 'Actions/Boot Pool Status' and see '/dev/da0p2' listed. Still guessing this is the USB that needs to be formally added to the Boot Pool, I select 'Attach'. Then I'm asked for a 'Member Disk' to attach, but the pull down is empty of options/candidates. Dead end. So much for my attempts to get the USB listed as something other than N/A.

I'm sure I did ten kinds of wrong things here so I humbly ask for your support. Can this be fixed, or indeed, is the "N/A" listing not actually a problem at all?
Thanks for your time and thoughts on this.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality