Best practices for boot/data drive setup (TN Scale on Proxmox)

mikeintexas

Dabbler
Hello Everyone,

I've read a bunch of threads on virtualizing TN Core and Scale, but much of it is about running on top of ESXi, which I have very little experience with. I've decided to try and virtualize almost everything in my home environment (except my gaming PC...for now) and want to give Proxmox a go.

In my few weeks of testing Promox on a dedicated bare metal server, I've had several Win10 VMs running well with no issues. I've enabled IOMMU and have been able to pass through HBAs and NIC to those VMs, so I feel semi-confident in giving it a shot with a virtualized instance of TN Scale. My Linux command line experience is limited, but I can follow a how-to guide like no one's business. :D Just being honest about my Linux-fu.

I've not tested virtual anything with TN Scale yet; I figured I'd come here first and hopefully avoid a lot of mistakes and frustration. :)

I understand the hardware has to support what I'm trying to accomplish, and am building a new server to replace all the old bare metal servers and the dozen or so Win10 boxes scattered throughout the house.

Supermicro H12SSL
Epyc 7302P
512GB Reg ECC
2 x Broadcom/LSI 9400-16i HBA
8 x 4TB SSDs (Crucial/consumer grade drives - for live data storage and VMs)
6 x 18TB Seagate Exos spinners (for backup of VMs and data storage)
Intel X520-2 for in-rack comms b/t servers (will be building a separate TN box for a backup server)
Onboard 1GB NICs for serving data to users

My question is regarding boot and data drives for TN itself. As I understand, it's best practice to pass an HBA and it's drives directly to TN for storages/shares. What about the boot drives? For bare metal anything, I always have a mirror setup for the boot drive.

As I see it, I have two choices (maybe there are more?):
1. Create a dedicated 2-drive mirror ZFS pool on Proxmox and install TN Scale on it, then pass the HBA with the storage drives to TN