Best backup solution for windows pcs

Status
Not open for further replies.

biggyk

Contributor
All my pcs in the house are windows 10 and im looking for the best way to backup a few folders on each to freenas. Just wanted to know what you would recommend for a somewhat newbie to the game? I looked at crashplan but cant find a good tutorial on setting it up. I did install the client on one of my desktops. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

joeschmuck

Old Man
Since this isn't a FreeNAS question, moved to Off Topic.

But I use Acronis True Image on my Windows PCs to backup my hard drives to FreeNAS. This is a paid program but I've been using it for so many years and it just works. You can set it up to backup files or the entire hard drive. I use the entire hard drive because in my experience you typically are not looking for a single file to recover but the entire drive crashes or the system becomes corrupt and vice reinstalling Windows, you can reinstall your drive image and it's super fast. I'm talking under an hour (well it depends on how large your hard drive is of course). If you did need to restore a single file then you can mount the backup image and recover the file(s) you desire. Again, it's a paid program.

As for other Windows based backup programs, there are many out on the web that are free. I like the Microsoft SyncToy and then you create a rule to automatically run it. It will make a copy of your data that has changed, not backups. This is a great program if you only want to have a copy of what resides on your system since the last run of SyncToy.

You will find others out there. As for FreeNAS, just map a drive letter on the computer to a SMB share and you backup to that drive letter. Acronis can use the drive path "\\freenas\backups\computer_1\" for example, not all free software can do that. However I use mapped drives for Acronis because I do check my backups to see how they are running.

Alecmascot

Guru