Basic file sharing purpose of Freenas and Hands-on purpose

Status
Not open for further replies.

antz

Cadet
Hi,

Im new to freenas and I have been reading this forum for around 3 days and so far I saw a lot of post discouraging using an Old PC and run FreeNas on it. I admit, I'm guilty of that because that is one of the main purpose I have been reading the forum. I almost turn my back away from freenas but today I found this post.

https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...ative-for-those-seeking-virtualization.26095/

"post is aimed at people wanting to use FreeNAS to provide a little basic file sharing..."

what I have in mind however is not to virtualize but to use an old PC with this configuration
- 4GB RAM
- 2.x Ghz Intel Pentium 4 Processor
- 1 x 500GB seagate 7200 rpm
- 1 x 2TB seagate 7200 rpm
- no monitor. I use teamviewer to control it if i need to
- Currently, it runs windows 7

Main purpose of the PC is for sharing files. not heavily important ones. Think of it like a place to send files to others but no intention to make that as a master copy.

Secondary purpose is media server. It currently runs Serviio and being access by 2 network attached 40" Samsung LED TV. Most of the media files are 480p and some 720p. So far the playback for these sizes are OK. I tried to play 1080p once and the playback is not smooth.

Now, why am I looking at Freenas is I am hoping that it may make my current PC performs better because my assumption is that Windows UI takes too much of the PC resources despite of it not having its own monitor.

Questions
Will I get better performance when I replace my windows OS and use freenas instead?

For the twist.
My stay in this forum is making me think to try the "real use" of freenas. I am seeing some information that I think freenas is worth trying. That makes me more eager to try it on my small purpose old PC and get hands on experience before investing to it.

My Experience level.