Backup in NTFS to local hard disk

Status
Not open for further replies.

KW_

Cadet
Hello, Im looking at changing to FreeNAS after commercial options out there for home use have frustrated me time after time.

I am new to Open Source NAS alternatives so forgive me if this is a dumb question.
Is it possible for the data to be backed up periodically to a NTFS like partition on another hard drive(if it has has four slots) which can be plugged directly into windows unlike raid arrays?
I have been reading through the manual and online but cant seem to find any mention of this.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
No, NTFS is just about the worst option for such a thing, as it is very poorly supported and sees little testing.

That said, the ability to connect it to a Windows client is overrated. You can easily attach a ZFS pool to any installation of FreeNAS, FreeBSD, Linux (with ZFS on Linux) and several others - so you can just make your backups to ZFS and benefit from all its features.

KW_

Cadet
No, NTFS is just about the worst option for such a thing, as it is very poorly supported and sees little testing.

That said, the ability to connect it to a Windows client is overrated. You can easily attach a ZFS pool to any installation of FreeNAS, FreeBSD, Linux (with ZFS on Linux) and several others - so you can just make your backups to ZFS and benefit from all its features.

What do you mean by "ZFS pool"? You can still plug it in to any other linux based OS and read data off it right?

Aslo in regards to connecting it to a windows client I could see why others would think that it is not as useful. But considering that I am using it for a home server where it is the only linux based computer it would be useful to have that utility and be able archive an old copy that can be easily read by any computer.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler

Corrodias

Cadet