Backup FreeNAS on off-site old laptop just in case.

seby20

Dabbler
Hi, first off, I'm new to all of this. I'm not a network guy at all. So please be gentle ;) .
Ok, I have already a FreeNAS setup as movies, photos, video, souvenirs for our family.
I have look to back up everything on cloud, but too complicated for me and don't have the money for it.

So I have an old laptop here that "maybe" I thought I could use to backup the FreeNAS once a week but off-site. So I have an external USB 10TB that could be plugged to it. So I could bring that laptop at my friend's house and wired to the internet to copy once a week my FreeNAS. Or actually, what is new.

Is this possible first?
If yes, could you help me on that?
tks
Seby

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Is this possible first?

Yes, but what you propose is pretty slow. Better would be something like this:

And then just store the drive at your friend's place. Visit weekly to refresh the backup.

seby20

Dabbler
Yes, but what you propose is pretty slow. Better would be something like this:

And then just store the drive at your friend's place. Visit weekly to refresh the backup.
Hi, tks for your answer, what is slow? I mean, let's say I make my first initial backup like you sent me on an external HDD. Then I plug it on the laptop I was talking about. Lets say I add 3 movies during the week. so 12gb for instance. Then during a night, it will upload only those 3 movies on the backup place. You think it's not good enough?

tks
Seby

Heracles

Wizard
Or actually, what is new.

Is this possible first?

Hi,

It is surely possible. I would suggest you establish a VPN between your friend's network and yours as a first step. You can do it site-to-site between your routers if they offer it, or client-to-site with a VPN client installed on the laptop.

Before deploying the laptop at your friend's place, do the first sync on your local network. It will me million time faster. You can use RSYNC for that.