Backup Advice ??

StarTrek133

Contributor
Hello Everyone,

I need some advice .. I finally got all the parts needed for my Synology backup .. I currently have Rsync tasks up and running to do a push every night to the Synology ..

But my question is , is that a good option for backing up the Truenas box .. or should I used replication and snapshots ??

As I am new to doing things with Truenas I am not sure .. So any advice would be great ..

Thanks for your help and time ..

chuck32

Guru
Welcome!

You didn't share much about your backup process, but at first glance rsync should work fine. I guess it depends on your requirements and how you set everything up to determine if it's a good fit for you.

But my question is , is that a good option for backing up the Truenas box .. or should I used replication and snapshots ??
Synology doesn't support ZFS as far as I know, so you can't go that route. Although I'm happily corrected here.

StarTrek133

Contributor
Welcome!

You didn't share much about your backup process, but at first glance rsync should work fine. I guess it depends on your requirements and how you set everything up to determine if it's a good fit for you.

Synology doesn't support ZFS as far as I know, so you can't go that route. Although I'm happily corrected here.
Hey Chuck32,

Not sure what other information is needed .. So please let me know ..

I am just looking for the best way to do backups of Truenas Core to my Synology ... when I did some googling I found a video about setting up Rsync so that is what I followed ... But thought I would double check to make sure ...

ChrisRJ

Wizard
If it works and does the job, I would really leave it there.

chuck32

Guru
Not sure what other information is needed .. So please let me know ..
If you have any reason to believe rsync is not for you, we'd need information on what requirements you may have that you do not feel met with rsync.