Auto Import Raid1 GEOM

Status
Not open for further replies.

msrdn767

Cadet
Joined
Oct 9, 2011
Messages
2
Hello,

I am running FreeNAS 8.0.1 release version and try to Auto import a RAID 1 from FreeNAS 0.7.2.

I always see the following error (see attachment)

Thank you for your help.
 

Attachments

  • freenas.jpg
    freenas.jpg
    9.7 KB · Views: 273

patrick0525

Dabbler
Joined
Oct 9, 2011
Messages
29
I plan to migrate from 0.7.2 to 8.1 for my raid5 Freenas system.
I tested it on VirtualBox by creating a 0.7.2 & 8.0.1 VirtualMachines

#1 on 0.7.2 ssh command line 'zpool list' identifies my pool name 'tank'
on 0.7.2 ssh command line 'zpool export tank'
shutdown 0.7.2 VM

#2 on 8.0.1 Storage->Volume _> Auto Import Volume
Import the exported Zpool

Everything worked! The *.MP3 file stored on 0.7.2 was accessible on 8.0.1
 

bagarnx

Cadet
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
3
I have the exact same problem, the mirror disks won't import.
Could this be a bug in 8.0.1?

Is it possible to mount just one of the disks in a RAID1 configuration as a single drive in freenas?
I tried importing just one of the disks, but the same error appears.

File system of the disks are UFS.

Any ideas?
 

bagarnx

Cadet
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
3
Tried FSCK:ing the drives, and again importing them. The same error.

Really no one with an idea?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
4
I assume it is a UFS geom mirror you're trying to import? There's a bug open for that which I think is what you're hitting here:
http://support.freenas.org/ticket/829

I'm also hitting this bug. Hopefully it'll get fixed soon! I did try to work on a patch yesterday, but I don't really have enough context of how this all fits together to make much progress and I don't have a whole lot of time at the moment to devote to it.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
4
The bug is now marked as fixed, but does anyone know when this is likely to make it in to a release?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top