Asking the Experts - Storage Reworking

Status
Not open for further replies.

RallyGallery

Cadet
I am new to FreeNAS so I am asking a quick question of the experts. I have searched through this forum but not found exactly the answers I was looking for.

I have FreeNAS 11 running 2x4tb WD Red Drives in a mirror. The system is basically a media server and carries all my media. I also have an SSD that carries my jails etc.

I have now got a another new WD 4tb Red drive and was thinking to use it in the pool. However, you can't extend the pool but basically I will have to destroy the pool and start again. All my data is backed up so that's not an issue. The jails are separate so again, no problems. The system dataset is stored on the media mirror but I can change that to the SSD via the GUI so again no problem (unless anybody advises me differently). So my questions are :

- Is it worth destroying and creating a new pool with the 3 x4tb drives (the extra space would be useful to future proof the system)
- What array should I use. From the forum reading I was thinking Raidz2?

Any help or comments are greatly appreciated.

Last edited by a moderator:

m0nkey_

MVP
With three drives, you would want a RAIDZ1 array. That should give you approximately 8TB of storage with one disk parity.

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Or buy another 4TB drive and extend your existing pool with an additional mirror and double your pool capacity while maintaining redundancy without having to destroy your pool.

Holy run on sentence......

RallyGallery

Cadet
Thanks for the help and info. Just what I was looking for.

I have decided to go with buying another 4tb drive and mirroring it with the other one that is currently spare.

I assume I can do that through the web GUI, mirror them like before and then just choose the 'extend' field to my existing Media pool of the two existing 4tb drives?

Stux

MVP
Yes

RallyGallery

Cadet