Anyone see there are WD Red "Pro" drives coming out?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fraoch

Patron
I'm surprised I haven't heard too much about these on the forum.

I'm still learning about them and trying to cut through the rather heavy WD marketing to get to the facts, but from what I can see, the differences between the original Reds are:
  • 7200 vs. 5400 RPM
  • Intended for 8-16 drive arrays instead of 1-8 drive arrays (1-5 drive arrays with NASware 2.0)
  • Vibration reduction
  • Vibration compensation
  • 5-year warranty vs. 3
Probably a lot more differences but I've just started looking at them plus I'm unlikely to use 8+ drives, maybe ever. Interesting though.

They're not available here yet, not sure about elsewhere.

What are your thoughts on these?

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Well, most forum users are home users. As such, the "Red" drives are overkill for many users. I'm expecting the "Red Pros" to be even more of an overkill. No doubt there will be a few that will argue otherwise, and no doubt there will be a few that will have some other justification for the new "Red Pros", and I'm sure the price will be even higher than the Reds.

So yeah.. it's a "whatever" product from my perspective.

9C1 Newbee

Patron
A new religion.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
A new religion.

And the LORD spake saying: First shall thou remove the holy pin.
Then shall thou count to Three, no more, no less
Three is the number thou shall count and the number of the counting shall be Three.
Four shall thou not count, neither count thou Two, excepting that thou then proceeds to Three.
Five is right out.

Once the number Three, being the Third number be reached,
Then lobbies thou the Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch towards thine foes,
Who, using WD Red Pros in my sight, shall snuff it.

Amen.

Arwen

MVP
I've bought 2 WD Red 4TB drives, and 2 WD Red Pro 4TB drives. With ZFS RAID-Z2 I should be okay,