Another out of room thread.

Status
Not open for further replies.

the_owl

Dabbler
I'm not much of a FreeBSD user, I built a Freenas box for media. Movies, music etc for home use.
I use newsgroups sometimes to download. The other day a corrupt nzb file caused the article grabber to start creating hundreds of thousands of 204mb files in the cache directory. It filled up my freenas box. I know I'm a bad admin for not setting a policy to restrict this, but I didn't think Id be filling up a 21tb zfs!
I don't know how to delete some of these folders exactly. I'm worried about losing my data. I have gone in via ftp, but I also get the "No space left on device" error.
How can I safely delete folders and sub files ?
Thanks

the_owl

Dabbler
I can get in viaputty , is the shell in the gui the same thing? What command would delete folders with subs? thanks

Inxsible

Guru
I can get in viaputty , is the shell in the gui the same thing? What command would delete folders with subs? thanks
No the GUI shell is not the same as getting in via ssh.
Code:
find /pathToYourParentFolderContainingYourSubFiles  -name "*.sub" -type f -delete
Make sure -delete is the last argument or it will delete everything. OR
Code:
find /pathToYourParentFolderContainingYourSubFiles -name "*.sub" -type f -exec rm {} \;

The above commands will delete all the files that have a .sub extension.

It won't delete the folders though. If the names of all the folders have a similar pattern then you can choose to include that in the command to delete everything in the same command. -type f is what only selects files and not folders. If you remove that flag, it will delete folders as well, but then again only folders with .sub extension.

Let us know if there is a pattern to the naming of the folders and files and I can give you a better command that will do what you need to do.

Last edited:

the_owl

Dabbler