All SSD vdev OR SSD L2ARC & Cache for shared ESXi SAN

Status
Not open for further replies.

HalfJawElite

Cadet
Hello Everyone,

First off I want to say that I’ve long browsed the online forums for help and ideas on setting up a FreeNAS system and figured it’s now time for me to join in on the discussions and gain some knowledge. I’m fairly new to FreeNAS, but look forward to learning what its full potential can be for my home lab from the experts here online.

And without further adieu, the million dollar question:

1. All SSD drive vdev’s with maxed out RAM? (no L2ARC or Cache)

OR

2. WD RE4 vdev with SSD ZIL and L2ARC and maxed out RAM?

I’m looking to build this as a shared SAN for my VMware ESXi cluster, which I hope to be adding more hosts to in the future, along with replacing aging ones. Currently I’m running two VMware 5.5 u3b hosts with local SSD storage on them for my VM’s, and an NFS “backup” volume on a QNAP NAS for copying the VM’s every time I take snapshots of them. I’m looking to add a fast SAN which I can provision and store all of the VM’s on without the need for local storage on the hosts. This is to give me better flexibility when I need to spin up VM’s or migrate them between hosts for maintenance. I currently run some VM’s for study purposes, but also have a few running for some friends as well. I’ll be running either 40 Gb InfiniBand or 10 Gb Ethernet on the networking side, connected directly to each ESXi host, until the time comes to add a switch.

I’ve done some digging through the forums and the FreeNAS primer document and found some useful information, but nothing concrete that can help assess which option is better suited for my scenario.

Links to similar forum posts:

ESXi NFS storage SSD RAIDZ3

I'm building a high performance ZFS SAN for education

An All SSD Rig and FreeNAS

Successful SAN build for ESXi

High Performance All SSD Array?