Adventures with Sonarr (Indexers not connecting, can't define root folder, can't connect to Transmission)

Koala166

Cadet
Disclaimer: when in comes to TrueNAS and Unix/Linux I am a novice. I don't know much in the way of terminal commands, and I rely mostly on the TrueNAS GUI. So please be gentle.

So I recently decided to check out Sonarr. I had only a vague idea of what it was, but I tried installing the plugin from the TrueNAS GUI, and the experience has been... interesting. The issues I encountered are probably things that many novice users will have to deal with, so I decided to document my progress so far. (BTW, I'm running TrueNAS core version 12.0 U8.1, and I have installed Sonarr version 3.0.9.1549.)

First of all, Sonarr seems to be a very convenient app to keep track of TV series. However, I immediately ran into various functionality issues. It took three attempts to install the plugin. No idea that the issue was, but I had to manually delete the Sonarr jail and start from scratch. I got a lot of error messages on the installation progress window about permissions and stuff which I am sorry to say did not document (and I'm not about to destroy my working Sonarr installation to recreate them). However, after the third attempt and despite various cryptic (at least to me) error messages, Sonarr worked!

After I started exploring the Sonarr web interface, I ran into my first issue: the Indexers function didn't manage to connect to any of the default sites. After some research, I managed to find that the solution is to disable the Certificate Validation in the Settnings->General->Security. From what I gather, this is a widely known issue. So it would be nice if Certificate Validation was disabled by default, or at least there was a post-install note in the TrueNAS plugin (other plugins have such notes) which would alert an unsuspecting novice user about this issue.