Add a New Disk to Old Pool

themadman

Dabbler
I am new to this NAS thing. I built one with 3x4Tb drives a few months back with raidZ1... Now I want to add a new 4Tb to that pool. How to do that. Everyone says to use another 7Tb drive to store my existing data and then break it and build a new one which is not possible for me. What to do now.

• Motherboard - MSI x370 gaming pro carbon
  • CPU - Ryzen 7 1800X
  • RAM - 16GB DDR4 2400
  • Hard drives - 3x4Tb with RAIDZ1
  • Network cards - Onboard Gbps

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
What new pool topology are you trying to achieve? It's unclear from your post what your goal is. Are you trying to go from

Code:
        NAME                                            STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
        tank                                            ONLINE       0     0     0
          raidz1-0                                      ONLINE       0     0     0
            disk1                                       ONLINE       0     0     0
            disk2                                       ONLINE       0     0     0
            disk3                                       ONLINE       0     0     0

to

Code:
            disk4                                       ONLINE       0     0     0

or

Code:
          spares

danb35

Hall of Famer
RAIDZ expansion is Coming Soon™, but not yet present in TrueNAS, and not likely to be there in the next year. That means that the only way to turn a three-disk RAIDZ1 into a four-disk RAIDZ1 is to destroy the pool and recreate it. This, incidentally, is one reason commonly given to recommend mirrors rather than RAIDZ for home and smaller users.

themadman

Dabbler
Code:
-Creating spares VDev is easy... I want to do this... But I don't have spare drives to backup and destroy my pool....

Heracles

Wizard