Adaptec 6805 driver issue - Shutdown

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gernash

Cadet
Joined
Jan 7, 2012
Messages
5
I have an Adaptec 6905e and I have tried it in Freenas 8. It is not natively supported so I did the following

mount -uw /

copied the aacu64.ko(from the adaptec website) into /boot/kernel
manualy editited the /boot/loader.conf and added

aacu64_load=”YES”

I set the HDDs as JBOD and they appear in the HDD list and the ZFS raid works normally.

The issue I have is when you shutdown the NAS displays:

exiting on signal 10
<other stuff>
All buffers synced.
Uptime: XX XX XX

Then it just sits there, dosen't unload the driver and does not power off

I have tried adding the driver through the web gui “the new loader page”, with the same result.
***Had to be added in the web GUI as the Freenas gui update resets the loader.conf and resets the kernel folder***
also I have the the driver in the /boot/modules folder

NOTE: if you load the driver manually i.e.

kldload -v aacu64.ko

the SAS controllor functions normally, shows the drives and shutsdown gracefully.

Can anyone explain the correct way to install a 3rd party drive to install in Freenas 8, or how I can add the kldload command to a pre int as per Freens 7?



<Holding in the powerbutton on the NAS to shut it down makes me sad>
 

Gernash

Cadet
Joined
Jan 7, 2012
Messages
5
Issue resolved

Latest Build FreeNAS-8.0.3-RELEASE-p1-x64.GUI_Upgrade
Adaptec 6805 Function normally and now shuts down without hang.

Very Happy with the card


dd if=/dev/zero of=tmp.dat bs=2048k count=50k
51200+0 records in
51200+0 records out
107374182400 bytes transferred in 314.358787 secs (341565710 bytes/sec)

dd if=tmp.dat of=/dev/null bs=2048k count=50k
51200+0 records in
51200+0 records out
107374182400 bytes transferred in 153.409149 secs (699920331 bytes/sec)

Sustained 90Mb/s to/from nas
 

Gernash

Cadet
Joined
Jan 7, 2012
Messages
5
ACPI Power button hang

Didn't check everything, sigh. ACPI Shut-down via power button doesn't work (card hang on shut-down as per initial posting)

Oh well, I assume this will be just a build related issue with Freenas and will be resolved in a future release (fingers crossed).

If anyone knows of a workaround or fix/hack I'd be interested in trying it.
 

francois13e

Cadet
Joined
Oct 9, 2011
Messages
6
Exact same problem here on Adaptec 5805...
 

William Grzybowski

Wizard
iXsystems
Joined
May 27, 2011
Messages
1,740
Thanks for the info but I have to confess it is not much useful. You should be telling to to Adaptec, not us, so they can fix it.
 

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Joined
Mar 25, 2012
Messages
19,526
Will, why did you respond to a thread that is 8 months old? You okay bro? LOL. Usually you are the one asking why someone replied to a dead thread.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top