A TrueNAS and iXsystems Questions & Answers Interview [with elaboration request on RDMA answer]

Rand

Guru
Hey guys,

I just found this https://nascompares.com/news/truenas-ixsystems-nas-qa-answering-your-questions-in-2022/
There are some good answers for new users who are looking into NAS systems and are considering TrueNas as option, I like it

I actually stumbled over this while searching for news about TrueNas Scale and RDMA support, and was a bit surprised about the answer that @morganL gave wrt that question...

With TrueNAS Scale, will RDMA/RoCEv2 be supported?

RDMA is a very useful technology for accessing data in RAM on another system. For accessing data on HDDs and Flash, there is only a minor benefit. TrueNAS SCALE will support RDMA in a future release based on customer/community demand.

Now I am no expert on RDMA (or rather RoCEv2 as the implementation we most likely would look at), but from what I gather, for example from this FreeBSD presentation from 2018 ( https://papers.freebsd.org/2018/bsdcan/shwartsman-roce_as_a_performance_accelerator/) I would think that having (and I quote) "Local like [NVMe-over-Fabrics] performance" would be something that Flash arrays would benefit from as well?

I mean I basically see support for RoCE on a lot of other storage vendors 'Pro' lists, I see it at work in our IBM All-Flash Arrays, just not here?
I know its still on the roadmap (https://jira.ixsystems.com/browse/NAS-106190, got pushed back to the next release), but I really am confused here why you only expect minor benefits from this?

Thanks & Cheers

morganL

Captain Morgan
Administrator
iXsystems
Thanks @Rand

The presentation you referenced from freebsd.org was a sales pitch from Mellanox with only highly tuned lab data.

For example: they were using 512B write IOPS.
There was no ZFS and data protection included
There was no evidence that HDDs and SSDs were even part of the test.