A total noob question about truenas scale and VMs

huseyinozsut

Dabbler
Hi,

I have been using truenas for over one year now. And wow! I am already a huge fan of it. My setup in the office is pretty amateur. Standard mainboard, i5 3570 cpu, 24gb ram, one 128gb ssd for boot drive, one 128gb ssd for cages, VM etc... I use 6 of 6TB HDD in raid10.

I also built another one for a friend. It is pretty close to my setup with an extra HBA card, 12 of 2TB HDD in raid 60 (6 of the disks are in raid 6 and there are 2 vdevs of these disk sets in one Pool). He also have a backup disk and backs up his important data every week, which is enough for him. None of us have offsite backups.

We are allways on a very tight budget due to low income. :grin: (God! I love Turkey. I like the challenge!) That is why I used 12 of 2TB disks in two sets of raid 6!! Having an extra machine in the same space is not an option for us due to our low budget. Also internet upload speeds are pretty low here (4mbit). But at last, in our region one service provider started to give an unlimited internet with 20mbit upload speed. This means, off site backups are not impossible anymore...

Therefore I am planning to setup a third Truenas machine in my home. But again, with zero budget. :grin: I have an 3770k with 16gb of ram and 4 of 4TB disks. I can setup raid 10 in it. And with 20mbit upload speeds, we can start to take offsite backups. But this PC is my media center in my living room.

So, here comes the question: Would it be possible to setup a VM in Truenas Scale and install Kodi (or Libreelec with Kodi) in it and can get HDMI output? This would not be possible in Truenas as I know. I read somewhere there is a problem in USB passthrough in Truenas Scale though.

Another option would be using Truenas in VM (possibly with an HBA card); but data is more important than media playing. So I would prefer media player in Truenas Scale.

Am I seeking for the impossible? Or is it possible?