802.1x Authentication with FreeNAS 9.10

Status
Not open for further replies.

marove

Cadet
Hello everybody,

I've just installed FreeNAS 9.10 and have created a encrypted Z-Volume. Everything works just fine.

Now I want to plug the server into a network which requires 802.1x authentication. I'm very new to BSD so I've read some sites and it seems to work with wpa_supplicant (http://mini-it-world.blogspot.de/2013/03/freebsd-9-authenticate-to-8021x-wired.html ). I've logged into the console, and it seems that wpa_supplicant is not installed by default. I've read, that I should not install packaged directly to the system and should use jails for this but as I understand it correctly, the jails are installed on the encrypted Z-Volume, so even if I will get it running and the machine will get restarted, the machine will lose the access to the jail and can not access the network. This also means I can not unlock the encrypted volume (In the final setup, I don't have physical access to the server).

Is there any clean way to connect the server to an 802.1x Network?

It would be great if you can help me.
Regards

Marove

pschatz100

Guru
I would pick up a wifi router that can act as a bridge to the rest of your wifi network. That way, the wifi burden is not on FreeNAS. I've been running this way for over two years. It is certainly not the least expensive solution, but is robust and gives you the flexibility to configure your network exactly the way you want it. Also, put it all on a UPS. You'll be glad you did.

c32767a

Patron
Hello everybody,

I've just installed FreeNAS 9.10 and have created a encrypted Z-Volume. Everything works just fine.

Now I want to plug the server into a network which requires 802.1x authentication.

Is there any clean way to connect the server to an 802.1x Network?

Marove

No.