BUILD 10TB Helium disks and configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

nobody

Cadet
Hello everyone,

I'd really appreciate your response on my question since I am new to Freenas.

So I will buy a server with 4 x 10TB Helium disks and will use RAIDZ1 so there is at least one disk for parity.
Will Freenas work with 10TB disks ?

My second question is if it will be able to handle 30TB of flat files and share them via CIFS share.

Will this be appropriate for connecting the disks ?
9207-8i 6G SAS/SATA HBA Card

My server will be using E3-1230 and 32GB ECC Ram for processing.

If you feel I am missing something on the larger image with the above let me know so I don't throw money out of the window :)

Thanks for the help.

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
So I will buy a server with 4 x 10TB Helium disks and will use RAIDZ1 so there is at least one disk for parity.
Will Freenas work with 10TB disks ?

Yes. But but RAID-Z1 is highly discouraged for drives bigger than 1 TB. Use at least RAID-Z2. Personally I'd use RAID-Z3 ;)

Last edited:

nobody

Cadet
Hello and thanks for your response.

Why would you say not to do raidz for disks larger than 1tb? Due to rebuild times or other reasons that I haven't looked into ?
Isn't RAIDZ like RAID 5 ? 3 disks data and one parity in my case ?
I would prefer RAIDZ2 as well but there are also budget constraints...

Disks I will use are enterprise class so they offer a better durability than other seagate disks.
Also this storage will be mostly used to read data instead of writing. I don't expect great stress to be put in this storage. After all there won't be any iscsi etc. 10/90 read/write ratio of flat files.

danb35

Hall of Famer