100MBs max read/write bottleneck on 10G connectivity

senses

Cadet
Hello dear Truenas Community

Im new to Truenas and im reaching out regarding a problem that ive been having and so far havent been able to solve.

I have a write and read bottleneck when transfering data to and from a newly installed truenas core VM inside proxmox (doing so because i run other VMs and services and needed some consolidation due to lack of rack space).

On iperf3 i get 9.8Gbit/s speed max, but when i try to move files in and out of a share on the only pool i have, i get around 100MB/s write/read at maximum.

Here are the host proxmox specs and the truenas VM specs:

Proxmox Host:

Asrockrack EPYCD8-2T MOBO
AMD EPYC 7452 32-Core CPU
4x 32GB Kingston 3200 MHz KSM32RD4/32MEI
2X 120G Kingston A400 SSDs (Proxmox boot drives in raid-1)
LSI SAS 9207-8i PCIe card (passed trough to Truenas)
Seagate Ironwolf 510 960GB NVME SSD (VMs stored here)
8x Seagate EXOS 4TB HDDs ( all connected to LSI HBA)
3x Samsung 970 EVO 250GB SSDs (All passed trough to truenas)

Truenas VM:
VM image is 50GB and stored in the seagate Ironworld NVME SSD
32GB Ram
12 CPU Cores
Passed trough LSI Controller with the 8 Seagate drives attached
Passed trough the 3 Samsung 970 EVOs

My desktop:
16 core threadripper
32G ram
Adata xpg 1TB NVME SSD
Asus XG-C100F

Connecting everything together:
Mikrotik CRS312-4B+8XG switch

The setup:

The pool i created inside Truenas is a Raid-Z2 with a hot spare of one of the 8 seagate drives, 2 cache 970 EVOS and 1 970 EVO for log.

The VM is using 1 of the 2 10G ports of the mobo and is connected to the Mikrotik switch and so is my main desktop, traffic is flowing directly between them and on the same LAN.
Truenas share is a SMB share on the Z2 pool.
Truenas shows 10Gbase-T media subtype.
MTU is set to default on everything, proxmox, truenas and my desktop.

Didnt modify anything else besides installing, creating pool, share, and testing speeds.