SOLVED zpool degraded on truenas

polakkenak

Cadet
Hi folks. I'm fairly new to TrueNAS and ZFS, so please bear with me.

I recently bought a minisforum HM90 to serve serve my need for running VMs at home.
I put in 2x8GB of new memory and two older sata SSDs I had laying around.

After running for a short while, SCALE warns me that one of the pools are in a degraded state. This happens on a fresh install of SCALE 22.02.1

Code:
root@truenas[~]# zpool status boot-pool
  pool: boot-pool
 state: DEGRADED
status: One or more devices has experienced an unrecoverable error.  An
        attempt was made to correct the error.  Applications are unaffected.
action: Determine if the device needs to be replaced, and clear the errors
        using 'zpool clear' or replace the device with 'zpool replace'.
   see: https://openzfs.github.io/openzfs-docs/msg/ZFS-8000-9P
  scan: scrub repaired 0B in 00:00:13 with 0 errors on Fri Jun 10 07:59:52 2022
config:

NAME        STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
        boot-pool   DEGRADED     0     0     0
          sdb3      DEGRADED    23     0    34  too many errors

errors: No known data errors

After clearing the pool status and running a new scrub, the error will appear almost immediately again.

Code:
root@truenas[~]# zpool clear boot-pool
root@truenas[~]# zpool scrub boot-pool
root@truenas[~]# zpool status boot-pool
  pool: boot-pool
 state: DEGRADED
status: One or more devices has experienced an unrecoverable error.  An
        attempt was made to correct the error.  Applications are unaffected.
action: Determine if the device needs to be replaced, and clear the errors
        using 'zpool clear' or replace the device with 'zpool replace'.
   see: https://openzfs.github.io/openzfs-docs/msg/ZFS-8000-9P
  scan: scrub repaired 0B in 00:00:13 with 0 errors on Fri Jun 10 08:42:57 2022
config:

NAME        STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
        boot-pool   DEGRADED     0     0     0
          sdb3      DEGRADED    16     0    79  too many errors