BUILD Xeon E3 v5 Supermicro Build Check first FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chiaki

Explorer
Hello everyone.
I'm new to FreeNAS and this community, I hope you go easy on me :). I've read some recommendations concerning hardware, FreeBSD and FreeNAS in general and have come up with this:

Background
  • I'm a computer science student almost done with my master's degree with an all-in-all IT-experience in several fields of about 10 years.
  • I didn't work with FreeNAS yet but have some years of experience with Linux systems setting them up as web-/mail-/voicechat-/etc.-servers, also in form of VMs via Proxmox VE.
  • I didn't work with ZFS yet at all. All information I do have about it is what I've read about it on these forums (especially the great FAQs and presentations).
  • I do understand that FreeNAS alone, without an additional backup strategy, is not an appropriate solution to keep data safe.
  • I do understand that FreeNAS needs server-grade hardware and at least 8GB ECC-RAM to work reliably.
  • I do understand that FreeNAS should be operated with a UPS to exclude data corruption due to power outages.
Intended Use
  • I'm an IT-consultant for a lawyer office and they desperately need a good NAS-solution.
    • Right now they're using an ultra-low-end Buffalo NAS which was on RAID-0 when I first looked at it. It managed to transfer a brutal 4MByte/s and could go haywire any second.
    • No backup strategy was used at all, so I at least turned that NAS to RAID-1 and recommended an entirely different solution.
  • The lawyer office will use the NAS-function for storing delicate data of their clients. I tend to encrypt it via geli. Windows and OS X machines will use the server as network storage.
    • Right now there should be 10 simultaneous users for the local network storage tops.