X9DRI-LN4F+ / PERC H310 / 826BE1C-R920LPB

Status
Not open for further replies.

qhash

Dabbler
Hello everyone,

I am new to the new to FreeNAS forums! Hope I can get some information here and finally be able to build a NAS solution I need.

I am left with some hardware from previous project, and that is SuperMicro 826BE1C-R920LPB chassis and Perc H310 controller. I can buy for cheap X9DRI and two 10-core Xeon proccessors.
EDIT: Ah, I do also have HPE 8GB USB RAID1 rev3 stick which I may use as I boot device.

What I want to achieve is a VMWare box with a ZFS storage VM on it that will have direct access to H310 controller and all the harddrives that are going to be presented back as an iSCSI pool(optionally NFS, I do not need iSCSI in fact, just want it) for other VMs.

My questions are:
- will abovementioned HW work good with FreeNAS?
- is FreeNAS capable of doing what I need it to do?
- what would be SAFEST pool possible I could build out of four 4TB SATA 512e drives (guess 4Kn wont work with H310, maybe its worth chaning it? that is also a question :) )
- how much RAM should I have purely for FreeNAS ZFS?
- any hints strongly appreciated

Regards,

Last edited:

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Look at the links under the "Useful Links" button in my signature. There is one about an ESXi AIO system that @Stux built. It should give you a lot of useful information. Lots of other good reading there.
I think that the things you want are generally workable, but there are many implementation details to work on.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using Tapatalk

qhash

Dabbler
Thank you. Btw. I plugged in some of my old SSDs and HDDs which I was using with napp-it and freenas (I just built lab setup) found all the pools. Just tested host failure resilency :). altough I used has same HBA card, do not know if that matters.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
what would be SAFEST pool possible I could build out of four 4TB SATA 512e drives