X11SSM-F, G4620 build

SimonTh

Cadet
Hello

I've been running FreeNAS for about 10 years now, always on old HW I had laying around and haven't lost any data (yet, knock-on-wood).
However the time has now come for a proper upgrade to get rid of the hideous Gigabyte MB and non-ECC memory.
My main usage of the system will be file serving (the most load will come from a Ubiquiti UniFi Video server, currently accessing the FreeNAS via iSCSI but I might put the UniFi server in a VM on the new FreeNAS box instead of having it running on an old MacMini), a bit of Plex, and a few lightly loaded VMs (in addition to the possible UniFi Video VM). The disks will probably be a set of mirrored vdevs to allow for easy expansion later on (provided the serial numbers are far enough apart to trust both disks in a vdev won't fail at the same time, if not it will be RAID-Z2).

Being located in Denmark it seems my options for sourcing Supermicro boards are somewhat limited.
I would have liked to go for a Coffee Lake system to increase the chance that I'll be able to find new parts many years ahead but as I'm not able to find the X11SCL-F anywhere (at least not from a reliable source) I think I've settled on something along the lines of:

MB: Supermicro X11SSM-F
CPU: Pentium G4620 (boxed)
RAM: 2 x 16GB Samsung DDR4 2400 MHz ECC (M391A2K43BB1-CRC) from the QvL
Case: Fractal Design Define R5
PSU: Corsair RM650X
HDD: 4 x WD Red 3TB (sourced at two different suppliers to minimize risk of same batch disks)

This totals about DKK 9.000,- (~ EUR 1.200,- / USD 1.360,-).

I'm able to source the X11SSH-LN4F and appropriate memory for roughly the same price but I really don't need 4 x GB NIC so I don't wan't to pay the premium neither in sourcing nor in power consumption.