First build: Supermicro X11SSL-F / X11SSM-F

newby69

Cadet
Hi guys, this is my first build so jumping in the deep end here. If you could please help me out with feedback on my proposed build that would be much appreciated, especially for advice on which motherboard to go with, cheers.

Main use will be as a simple file server for a home office and for storing personal photos.

Motherboard: Supermicro X11SSL-F or X11SSM-F
Undecided between these two motherboards but leaning towards M-F

CPU: Intel Kaby Lake Pentium G4560 3.5GHz (BX80677G4560)

Case / PSU: Supermicro CSE-731i-403B with 400W power supply

RAM: 1 x Crucial CT16G4WFD8266 16GB DDR4 2666MT/s UDIMM with ECC

OS Boot drive: Crucial BX500 120GB SSD

Storage: 2 x 3TB WD Red

Thanks very much!

mer

Cadet
Just keep in mind ZFS loves RAM. I like to put as much in as possible (can afford) right from the start, can save you headaches in the long run.
I'm assuming with 2 drives you're going to mirror them, right? Because if you stripe them you have no redundancy and you'll need to "backup, destroy, rebuild, restore" in the future if you add more disks.

Above is just my opinion, others may (will) have different and perhaps better.

KrisBee

Wizard
@newby69 For a simple file server, 16GB is enough. Easy to add more memory if it ever proves necessary. Your chosen case limits you to a total of four HDDS. Logically you only need the six SATA ports on the X11SSL-F if you never intend to use more than 4 HDDS. If the price difference is not great the X11SSM offers two extra SATA ports which you may , or may not, need in the future. If you chose the X11SSL-F now, and later wanted to use more HDDS in another case, then you would only need to add a HBA to do that. Time to look in your crystal ball?

Last edited:

ilya.rocket

Cadet