Will it TrueNAS - Chenbro RM41416

gggr

Cadet
Hi all,

Looking to upgrade my 4 bay HP microserver to something with a lot more storage. I'm located in Australia so stock levels not always the best. The following system has come up on marketplace

Chenbro RM41416 - Tech data
Asus Z8PE-D12X - Asus tech Data
2 x Xeon X5680 CPUs - Intel tech data
12GB DDR3 ECC RAM
4 port SAS raid controller with 4 x mini SAS to SATA cables

I am new to trueNAS and a bit of a newbie generally with servers / storage.

Based on my reading here I will probably just run TrueNAS core, but may try out proxmox with a TrueNAS VM. I know there are some complications there (e.g. pass through the HDDs to TrueNAS) but will worry about that down the line. If I can't get it to work I will be okay with running TrueNAS on its own.

Either way I was planning spin up a pool with 8x10tb HDDs in Z1 as the main storage pool, plus a handful of smaller pools utilising HDDs I have laying around unused. Understand that Z2 or Z3 may be recommended at these sizes but I am okay with the risk

Looking at the 2nd hand equipment on offer, I am aware that:
  • All equipment is a bit old so is a few generations behind, e.g. DDR3 RAM. Fans may be noisy but look to be standard 80mm so could possibly swap for something quieter.
  • I should get more RAM. I would look at getting some ECC DDR3 also 2nd hand so exact amount will depend on stock but ideally around 32GB total?
  • Depending on the actual brand / make of the RAID controller, it may not work with TrueNAS. I am okay with replacing it with a new HBA(s) as needed. I am assuming I will be able to just plug a new HBA into one of the PCI slots.
  • Should get an SSD to use as a boot drive.
Are there any other dealbreakers or big issues I should be aware of before trying it out? A 16-bay case seems like a rare-ish find in this market so I am kind of keen to jump in.

gggr

Cadet