Will it FreeNAS: New NAS build (from a 100% noob perspective)

rsoption

Cadet
Greetings from down under!

Been using NAS for a while now. Being a complete IT noob, I went with closed systems like Netgear and Synology for ease of use (without tinkering and mucking around). My last NAS (Synology DS1515+) turned brick after only a short 4 years usage. With Synology tech support turning their backs on me and not willing to spend another AUD$1k+ for a closed system, I am now deciding to go down the route of building my own system and using the FreeNAS OS.

So here goes ...

The objectives of the build is ...

• House 5-8 x 3.5" HDDs (5 of them are from my old DS1515+ and 2-3 of them were from the HDD upgrades I did last year in order to increase the RAID size of the DS1515+)
  • Currently, all my data are housed up in the cloud (Google Drive). All 10-11tb of data, movies, mp3s, photos etc)
  • Previously on Synology DS1515+, I used their SHR raid so am hoping to find a similar RAID arrangement with FreeNAS
  • I'm by far not a power user and my needs are pretty simple ... I only use the NAS as physical drive and with the Synology app add-on, I was able to sync all files and edits onto Google Drive. I also use Plex but only on my iPad as I dont know how to use Plex
  • Obviously resource (money) is limited in most people's case so without going over the top, I try to spec the system with the following in mind ... Highest importance is the reliability of the system, ease of use (meaning I dont want to spend too much time mucking around the system) and lastly local warranty support. Buying from overseas can be cheaper and another plus is the variety of parts availability, but I prefer local support and less issues trying to sort out any RMAs
  • All parts are procured locally. When speccing, I took into consideration the availability of parts locally due to the warranty and after sales support reasons above

The proposed build is...

1. Motherboard - Intel S1200SPLR