Why is my volume showing less space than one would expect for the number of disks

Status
Not open for further replies.

bra1n

Dabbler
I created a volume as a RAIDZ1 with 6, 4TB disks. My understanding is that this would have created a volume with ~20TB of free space, but when viewing the volume it shows only 16.8 TB available. I expect that I'm either missing something obvious or that I'm misunderstanding how FreeNAS reports free space. This is my first time creating a volume that wasn't just a straight mirror.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Screen Shot 2015-05-18 at 1.45.55 PM.png

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
No, it shows 16.8 TiB, it's not the same as 16.8 TB (1 TB = 0.909 TiB).

Also, there's some overhead taken by ZFS, it's normal ;)

NB: it's not recommended to use RAID-Z1 with drives bigger than 1 TB, see the "RAID-Z1/RAID5 isn't recommended" link in my signature.

Last edited:

bra1n

Dabbler
AHA. I see. I found a TiB to TB calculator and that and the ZFS overhead makes sense. I'm going to rebuild the zpool as a RAIDZ2 after some reading I did. There is nothing on the volume now so nothing of value will be lost ;)

Thanks!

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
I concur, with 4TB drives, particularly 6 of them, I would suggest RAID-Z2, and I am the most forgiving of the guys on here in terms of RAID levels. So if *I* am saying RAID-Z2, you can bet you better use RAID-Z2.

:)

satyr

Dabbler
I wanted to bump this thread with a similar question. Taking into account overhead and drive space, here's what I'm left with. FWIW, I'm running 6x5TB drives in a RAID-Z2 config. Does this amount of available space seem appropriate? The volume's size seems about right (~27.3 TiB is roughly accurate for 30 TB advertised size). And the 8 TiB difference between the volume and primary dataset should be the 2 parity drives, correct?

Attachments

• Drive Capacity.PNG
    Drive Capacity.PNG
    10.9 KB · Views: 210
Last edited:

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant