Is my available space correct?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Norlig

Explorer
Good day,

I have a feeling I might be missing around 1TB of usable space on my CIFS Share.

I am running Freenas 9.10.
I got 4 x 4TB drives running in RaidZ1.

when looking at Storage -> Volume , it looks like this:
20160610094948-d9a347ae.png

The top volume has 3.4TB available, but the second volume only has 2.2TB available.

Looking at my mapped drive in windows, I have 2.17 TB free of 10.2 TB

I feel like it should say: 3.37 TB of 11.4 TB free ?

the original raid was made with 4x 2TB drives, and I replaced one drive at a time with 4TB ones, if that could be the reason?

Or maybe I have mounted the share at the wrong place, or have the wrong setting on the second volume?
I have limited knowledge on freenas, and only have 1 used for all my data and one jail I cant delete, so its not a perfect environment either.

Last edited:

jgreco

Resident Grinch
The top level shows the raw disk in the pool. You have 11.1 TiB + 3.4 TiB = 14.5 TiB (tebibytes) which is 16TB (terabytes) of disk. This number is referring to raw space.

The number below shows the used/available disk in the dataset. The available is an approximation, because RAIDZ has variable space usage. These numbers are referring to usable space, i.e. space not including parity. So if you have 16TB of RAIDZ1 space, you only have around 12TB (or 10.9TiB) of usable space. The actual number ends up being just a little less due to ZFS using some of this for metadata, swap space, etc. Your system shows 8.0+2.2TiB=10.2TiB.

As Windows reports, you have around 2.2TB free. The art of figuring out whether "TB" means "terabyte" or "tebibyte" for a given OS is left as an exercise to the reader.

This all looks perfectly consistent.

On a related note, please note that ZFS performance starts to degrade once you're up in the 80-90% range, so it might be time to consider some housecleaning, or possibly expanding your pool.

Ericloewe