WHS to FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raheel

Dabbler
Hi,

I want to move away from an old Windows Home Server 2011 (WHS) build and am considering a FreeNAS solution. This is for a home office set up. I have on order a Dell PowerEdge T130 Tower Server (Xeon E3-1230, 8GB ECC RAM, 500GB HDD) which will be my server. I am new to this, so any helpful and detailed responses would be greatly appreciated.

1) The goals for the setup would be to store all my photos, videos and documents, as well as be a plex media server and do computer backups. Additionally, I would like to set up CouchPotato and SickBeard. In the future I would also like to incorporate ownCloud. Would FreeNAS be able to support all this?

2) I am completely clueless on how to set up my storage. Currently, on the WHS, I have a 3TB and a 1TB drive and would like to continue using them due to limited funds at the moment. I have set up duplication for my photos and documents but not for my videos. Is there a solution that would allow me to continue using these drives in the short term, while providing redundancy for my photos and documents (under 1 TB).

3) For the long term, what would be the optimal set up for storage? I would like to move towards 4TB drives. Would that mean that the drives I have right now will not work in that set up?

Thanks for the help!

danb35

Hall of Famer
Would FreeNAS be able to support all this?
Yes, all of the things you mention are available as plugins.
Is there a solution that would allow me to continue using these drives in the short term, while providing redundancy for my photos and documents (under 1 TB).