What SAS/SATA card to use? (Have aoc-saslp-mv8 now)

Status
Not open for further replies.

redheadedrod

Cadet
I am new to FreeNAS and I am building a server right now from an old Windows Server box I have.

This box had an AOC-SASLP-MV8 card in it which apparently won't work with FreeNAS so I am looking for a replacement.

I am running on a recent high performance ASUS motherboard with an i5 processor and 24gigs of RAM. (Was originally intended to be a HomeServer box but not being used as such anymore.) I will make use of the onboard SATA ports for now but need a replacement for my card.

I am looking at potentially getting the suggested Intel ServeRAID M1015 but I am curious if it will work with the SATA cables I already own. I can probably get back most of my cost by selling my old card but curious if this is still the suggested card to get?

This machine will be used to basically backup my Windows File server in a home environment. (I am a CIS and InfoSec student so working with different packages is beneficial for me.) I will likely use it to backup the files off my windows server and also use some of FreeNAS's extra stuff.

Rodney

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
SATA cables I already own.
Assuming you were using them with the old card, they're the same.

curious if this is still the suggested card to get
Yes. Alternatives include the LSI SAS 9211, SAS 9207, SAS 9240 (the equivalent of the M1015), IBM M1115.

i5 processor and 24gigs of RAM.
Note that ECC is strongly recommended. It would imply a new motherboard+CPU+RAM.

recent high performance ASUS motherboard
Sounds like a recipe for headaches, depending on what kind of stuff it has onboard.

redheadedrod

Cadet
This machine is meant to backup my main server that is currently based on 2012 R 2 but is likely to be upgraded to the latest assuming a new version of server comes out with windows 10.