What are my options for Nvidia hardware acceleration?

imsocold

Dabbler
I recently built a new Truenas core server and would like to run Plex with Nvidia based hardware acceleration.
I have seen conflicting information regarding how to do this.

Hardware:
Asrock Rack D2550 D4i Avoton Board
Nvidia Quadro P400

Current Research:
Reading through the existing threads here and elsewhere it seems that Nvidia P400 drivers have been added to BSD and so should theoretically should be supported.
How well that translates to Truenas core is unclear.
Freeness Scale seems to be based on Debian and so it would undoubtedly be supported and I have some experience with Debian so I am confident in my ability to get it working

So the options seem to be:
  1. Run Plex in a Truenas Core Jail with resources representing the video card passed to the Jail.
  2. Run Plex in a Truenas Core Byve VM with the card passed through to the VM.
  3. Run Plex in a Truenas Scale docker instance with the resources representing the card passed to the docker instance.
Many of threads I have read are rather old.

I do not think option 2 is a good option for me as there is conflicting information about whether my board is actually supported for virtualization.
The intel website say the board supports VT-d but literally everyone else on the internet says otherwise.

I am not married to running Freenas Core and if migrating to Freenas Scale would make this easier I would gladly do that.
Thanks for whatever help you can provide.

Kris Moore

SVP of Engineering
Administrator
iXsystems
If you're setting this up fresh, I'd recommend you start with SCALE for this kind of workload... RC2 is landing tomorrow, and should be pretty stable for your average plex setup, while providing the easiest path forward for upgrades later.

imsocold

Dabbler