Want to buy a SSD for performance but use it for ZIL or Cache ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

djlax152

Dabbler
Hi guys, I am trying to boost the performance of my Freenas box I am a novice so I tried to read about how the ZIL and Cache work with ZFS but i am still a little puzzled as to which would probably give me the most performance gain. I use my freenas box to host "my documents", Stream my movies and some FTP use. Currently i have a RAIDZ with 4x 1TB drives, 8GB DDR3 RAM. I have 1 CFIS share that I use to access all of my files.

So my questions are based on what i am doing with my Freenas if i buy an SSD I am going to benefit more by using this drive to host the ZIL or use it as a cache drive? Also how big of an SSD do you think i should get? anyone have any thoughts or input??

I read here and it sounds like Putting the ZIL on a separate drive could really help but it seems like you'll only notice a big difference if you have a lot of synchronous writes. They have a Utility to see how your ZIL looks but i don't know how to use it with Freenas.
(Article)
http://constantin.glez.de/blog/2010/07/solaris-zfs-synchronous-writes-and-zil-explained
(Utility)
http://www.richardelling.com/Home/scripts-and-programs-1/zilstat

ZFS Raidz
4 x 1TB Hard drives
8GB of DDR3 RAM
Primarily used for CFIS Shares and occasional FTP.

As Always Thanks for your help!!

ProtoSD

MVP
I think I remember one user here using an SSD for ZIL and it had some problem and he lost his whole array. It was either ZIL or Cache, if it's not mirrored and you lose it, you lose everything. Just keep that in mind.

djlax152

Dabbler