My ZIL success story (FYI)

Status
Not open for further replies.

amurray

Cadet
Thought I'd share my own success story about how implementing a SSD based ZIL made a huge performance improvement in client-to-server file transfer performance (in my system, anyway.)

I'm by no means an expert, this is just how it solved my particular problem on my particular system, hope it helps someone. Be careful with your own data, and be sure to have a look at cyberjock's epic slideshow pinned at the top.

http://forums.freenas.org/index.php...ning-vdev-zpool-zil-and-l2arc-for-noobs.7775/

I'm not new to FreeBSD, but am fairly new to the ways of ZFS. The ZFS Intent Log has always mystified me (and lots of other people it seems; it's easily the most misunderstood, argued-about feature in ZFS :)

My system is an ever-evolving home NAS project for all your typical uses (backup, media serving, etc.,) has 32GB RAM, 4 core AMD FX CPU, and a main pool made up of six WD RED drives in three mirrored pair vdevs. I'm serving both AFP and CIFS to a mix of Mac OS X and Win8 machines.

Performance has generally been amazing (easily saturating gigabit ethernet during large file transfers) but with one major exception: Trying to copy my Aperture (photo) libraries to the server would take 12+ hours per library (the largest is about 27GB). These libraries are actually just 'packaged' directory structures consisting of thousands of images, directories and XML files. In my case the library was 27GB and 306000+ files. The same thing was happening with the Windows machines (esp. my Steam library and its 600,000+ files).

Basically, big contiguous files transferred wicked fast, hordes of small files took forever.

After a LOT of research and reading here and elsewhere, I was using 'zpool status -v' to watch the pool IOPS and bandwidth, and zilstat since it seemed like there must be some kind of contention going on when transferring loads of small files TO the server.