VM unable to see passthrough PCIe nic

Hello all,

I am new to TrueNas, the last time I used this was back in 2014 or so and it was called FreeNAS I believe. Anyways, it has changed a lot and I'd like to use it again.

I am looking to host my PFsense or OPNsense firewall as a VM in TrueNAS. To do this I have gone and bought a Quad 2.5G NIC and I am looking to pass it into the VM without TrueNAS touching it.

I think I have done everything correctly by going to VM - Devices - Add - PCI Passthrough and selecting the device.

Weirdly it shows up as 4 separate devices, I think each port might have its own controller, so I have added 4 different PCI devices to correspond with each port. These are the ones I have added:
Code:
pci_0000_05_00_0
pci_0000_06_00_0
pci_0000_07_00_0
pci_0000_08_00_0

And this is the output of lspci (cropped to the NIC)
Code:
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8125 2.5GbE Controller (rev 05)
06:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8125 2.5GbE Controller (rev 05)
07:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8125 2.5GbE Controller (rev 05)
08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8125 2.5GbE Controller (rev 05)

However, upon booting OPNsense (and I have tried PFsense too), I am getting something along the lines of "No network interfaces detected". So my question is, is there something I am missing? I couldn't see the PCIe devices earlier, turns out VT-D was disabled, so I enabled it and then I was able to add them. Perhaps because TrueNAS was setup with VT-D disabled, I need to enable some kernel module or something? I am not sure as to why this is not working as PFSense and OPNsense both support the RTL8125.

My System:

Code:
CPU: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Gold G6405 CPU @ 4.10GHz
RAM: 8GB
TrueNAS: TrueNAS-SCALE-22.12.2

jgreco

Resident Grinch
With only 8GB of RAM, you barely have enough memory to run TrueNAS itself, you don't have enough for VM's.