Virtualize it or let it Virtualize? That is the question!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shockwaver

Dabbler
Hello everyone!
As a total newbie (both in this forum and with FreeNAS) I will right away shoot my question.
Please consider this generic scenario (low-ended)

HW
CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1285 v6
MB: Any w/ Intel C236
RAM: 64GB DDR4 ECC
OS(s) Disk: 512GB M.2 NVMe - NOT in NAS pool
Storage Disks: up to 4x 3.5'' and up to 3x 2.5'' (disks may be same if same form factor) - in NAS pool
NICs: variable number for a maximum of 6x GBE IFs

Target OSs (Virtualized or not, all on the NVMe)
1x FreeNAS
1x GW/FW (like OPNsense)
1x Win10 Video Survellance Server (8-16GB RAM)
1x Win10 GP (8-16GB RAM)
1x WinServer GP (8GB RAM)
1x SVN

Let me firstly apologize for the extensive usage of microsoft platforms (I do have apps running on Win only and I'm too lame to go under Wine, again)
I have successfully, for some time, ran all the above with Ubuntu Server as hypervisor (and SVN) host and virtualizing all the rest with KVM.
Then finally came the time when FreeNAS didn't like something (like the NON-ECC ram I was too stupid not to mount in my previous configuration) and I lost my pools.

I was anyway happy with my (poor) home server solution and I'm willing to get another go, with ECC RAM this time around :D.

... And this time around, I spotted in the docs the section about VMs and started to wonder:
Given the above hypothesis (of HW and OSs configurations), what could I do better?
Unleash the FreeNAS directly on the metal and virtualize the rest with it, or do like I did using another (unix, not getting VMWare) host and virtualize the rest with KVM

Or, if you wish:
  1. Who is doing a better job in virtualizing: bhyve or kvm?
  2. Who is doing a better job in passing-through (OPNsense will need 2 dedicated IFs and operate them at will to work properly - bridged virtIO seemed to be ok): bhyve or kvm?