VDev show degraded but fine after restart?

DMDComposer

Cadet
Hi,
I'm new to NAS servers in general. I saw one of my VDEVs was showing degraded. It seems "sda" and "sdb" are showing some errors with "sdb" being the one faulted. However, after a restart it now looks fine, but "sdb" has some errors still just a lot lower. I've provided two pictures below.

1708880745176.png

1708880724234.png

My question is, is one of my hdd's, presumably "sdb" in risk of failing? Is this a situation that I need to replace the drive asap? Or, do I just keep an eye on it? I would appreciate any insight!

Cheers,
DMDComposer

artlessknave

Wizard
please read the forum rules.
a reboot will reset error counts. you should plan to replace at least one of those drives asap, because if they do both die that pool is dead.

backups are also a really really good idea.

note that, with this pool layout, you might have been better with mirrors. both your laout and all mirrors would be 50% usable.
usually raidz2 is used with 6-12 drives to get the space efficiency.

Patrick M. Hausen

Hall of Famer
you should plan to replace at least one of those drives asap, because if they do both die that pool is dead.
Not yet, my friend, not yet. It's a RAIDZ2 vdev, so two disks may fail. Still @DMDComposer should run SMART tests and plan for replacement.

artlessknave

Wizard
Not yet, my friend, not yet. It's a RAIDZ2 vdev, so two disks may fail
oops. you are right. correction: if they both die the pool will be at risk as there will be zero redundancy.
my brain basically is yelling at me "it's red; replace it, replace it REPLACE IT NOW!"

DMDComposer

Cadet
Thank you guys for your responses. I purchased another drive this morning to prepare. I'm going to run a SMART test and see what results I get.