User's Windows Home directories all sharing the same content

nicoPSV31

Cadet
Hi All,

I'm new to FREENAS and am running version 11.3-U3.2 on a custom machine. I'm struggling with getting home shares to work properly; it must be some sort of really stupid issue as I've spent hours on forums to try to find the solution to my problem and I found no post dealing with a similar matter...

The problem I have is that, although I can see the home shares created for each users through Windows Explorer, it looks like each user's home shares its content with the one of other users. What I mean is that if I drop a file in user1's home, user2 will see exactly the same file...

I've set up FREENAS following the steps below I found in the documentation:
  1. Created a specific dataset (in my case, homeshares on a pool named LAB). I kept all default options during the creation of the dataset, including the Share Type which is set to Generic (also tried the SMB option)
  2. Created a new share (named home) from the Windows Shares (SMB) menu, checked the "Use as home share" checkbox. The path is "/mnt/LAB/homeshares". I left all other options to their default values, including the default ACL options ("allow everyone@ full control no inherit" and "allow group@ full control inherit")
  3. Created a new user "user1" with the following home directory: /mnt/LAB/homeshares/user1, left default permissions and checked the "Microsoft Account" checkbox
  4. Created a new user "user2" with the following home directory: /mnt/LAB/homeshares/user2, left default permissions and checked the "Microsoft Account" checkbox
From there, I can see 3 shares on my network: home, user1 and user2. If I drop a file on user1's share, I can see the same file in user2's.

It however looks like the home folders for each user are however created, as I can see them when I go back to the user edition screen...

I'm running out of idea as to why my system behaves this way. As anyone encountered something similar?