Upgrading Jails from 11.3 (FreeNas) to 12.0 (TrueNas)

SupplePigeon

Cadet
I have recently upgraded from FreeNas 11.3 to TrueNas 12.0. My new system is up and running normally. However the Jails are still at 11.3. Doing a standard update on the jail fails with "Error: Major ABI change detected, please run 'upgrade' instead. "

I even ran an "upgrade" from shell using BSD commands, but the jail is still at 11.3. Is there a way for me to upgrade the jail to the same version as the new 12.0 TrueNas?

If so, I haven't been able to find any documentation on it.

Regards,

SP

SupplePigeon

Cadet
Search this forum for iocage upgrade -r 12.1-RELEASE jailname
Thank You for the quick reply. I am still learning all of this and wasn't even aware of the iocage upgrade command. I was able to upgrade my current jails and they seem to be working normally.

Thanks again for your help!

SP

rudds

Dabbler
I've got a single basejail created under 11.3, with a number of other jails cloned from it and customized for various purposes. In 11.3, I could iocage update the basejail and all of its clones would also be updated automatically.

After updating to TrueNAS 12, I successfully upgraded the basejail to 12.1-RELEASE per above, but running a freebsd-version in any of the clones shows them as still being on 11.3-RELEASE-p14. Did something change here? In my understanding this isn't expected behavior based on how basejails and clones relate to each other.

Note that iocage update is not the same as iocage upgrade.

A base jail mounts the userland of the release it was created from, as a result all base jails refer to that same release and you only have to iocage update once. The iocage upgrade command will point a base jail to a different release. You will need to do that for each base jail you want to upgrade.

There are some related experiments in this thread: https://www.truenas.com/community/threads/iocage-jail-type-base-jail-vs-clone-which-to-choose.82639/

rudds

Dabbler