Updates to Hard Drive Standby Behavior in TrueNAS 12?

dheinz

Cadet
Hi TrueNAS folks,

I am new to TrueNAS and have learned a tremendous amount by browsing and searching these forums, as well as stack overflow and the like. I'm hoping someone here can help me out with what is likely a very simple issue.

I would like to have the four drives in my main pool spin down when they are not being used. I have read all the commentary suggesting this is not a good idea and so forth, but I'd still like to explore the possibility. For context, this NAS is set up as an infrequently used data storage repository. I expect that it will be accessed in bursts of activity spread apart by long intervals (e.g. 12 hours of continuous use, but only once a month). As such, I'd prefer it to rest silently with minimal power consumption when it is not needed.

I have done my best to follow the various instructions, but I have noticed the drives frequently spinning back up from standby, even though no clients are connected, no scrubs should be running, etc.

My configuration is as follows: 4x Seagate Ironwolf HDDs, Supermicro X10, Xeon E3 V3, 16GB ECC RAM, WD SSD for boot

These are the steps I have tried:
  • Under Storage > Disks (for all disks in pool)
    • Set disk power management level to less than 128
    • Check Force HDD Standby
    • Set HDD Standby to 60 minutes
    • Leave other settings default (SMART enabled)
  • System Dataset moved to Boot Pool
  • Services
    • SMART Check Interval 720
    • Other services running are SMB, AFP, UPS and SSH
  • Tasks
    • SMART Long Test monthly
    • Pool scrub default frequency (35 days)
There is one frequently cited step suggested to prevent the drives from spinning back up that I am unable to replicate. Posts like this one from FreeNAS 11.3 instruct to set SMART service to Standby power mode. My options page for the SMART service does not have a power mode field. Has this option been moved/replaced?