Update Plex Server on FreeNAS 11.3

Jedi940

Dabbler
I installed the plex pass version of the plugin and then later realized that was the beta channel. Is it possible to switch back to the regular release or do I need to stay on the plexpass chain?

elorimer

Contributor
I've deleted and reinstalled the plex plugin several times over the last few months without issue; I don't have a lot invested in metadata so it really only takes a few minutes. Others seem to have more invested.

At the moment I've installed plex in a jail (not the plug in), with the metadata in a separate dataset, with my plexpass subscription.

I'm beyond a novice here. You can't be a novice with 17 10tb WD reds installed, so please, teach me!

Jedi940

Dabbler
lol, the 10TB drives are in the server I manage at work. My personal server is where I'm messing with plugins. I have reinstalled the plex server before but for some reason, I have an issue where freenas remembers the name I used so each time for the jail so I have to name it something different. I was hoping to not have to start from scratch again and just update the current plugin.

elorimer

Contributor
Yes, I don't know why that is. You can change the name of the jail afterwards, but that breaks plex.

kflaming

Cadet