Update FFMpeg Emby Plugin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jrod696

Explorer
I have been using the Emby plugin for quite a while and now have a fire stick, playing on the Firestick you receive and error when playing HEVC files. I went through the testing and debugging on the Emby forums (see link below) and it was determined the FFMpeg is way out of date and most likely the cause. I waited to upgrade to 3.2.70.0 to see if that resolved the issue but it did not.

I have also tested on 3 separate sticks and they all have the issue.

How can I upgrade/update the FFMpeg in the Emby plugin jail without totally screwing up the whole jail.

I know it will be brought up so I will answer the question now, I do not want to do a manual install because the plugin does have features in it that are not included in the manual install and they work well for what I need.

https://emby.media/community/index.php?/topic/55354-fire-stick-hevc-error/

One last thing to add, I am very new to FreeNAS and scripting in general so I need the kindergarten instructions if possible :tongue:

Nick2253

Wizard
I do not want to do a manual install because the plugin does have features in it that are not included in the manual install and they work well for what I need.
What features are you looking for? It might be easier to get those features working in a manual jail than updating FFMpeg in the plugin.

However, I'm not an expert in the Emby plugin, so updating FFMpeg might be super easy. I'm just exploring other options.

Jrod696

Explorer
What features are you looking for? It might be easier to get those features working in a manual jail than updating FFMpeg in the plugin.

However, I'm not an expert in the Emby plugin, so updating FFMpeg might be super easy. I'm just exploring other options.